#InternationalYogaDay2015: India is the Global Spiritual Capital

by | Jun 21, 2015 | Awareness Day/Month

Yoga has been an integral part of India since Indus Saraswati civilization for about 5000 years now. With time the nomenclature has changed with modifications in the practise but the benefit is still the same. Today’s fast paced life with challenges from all quarters requires us to practice a discipline which is beyond achieving a physical goal. The need of the hour is a comprehensive health goal which focuses on physical, mental and spiritual health together.

Types of Yoga

Bhagawad Gita introduces 3 prominent types of Yoga:

  1. Karma yoga: Yoga of action
  2. Bhakti yoga: Yoga of devotion
  3. Jnana yoga: Yoga of knowledge

The Eight-Limbed Yoga or “Ashtanga Yoga” of Patanjali’s writing are as follows:

  1. Yama or the five abstentions
  2. Niyama or the five observances
  3. Asana which literally means seated position used for medidation
  4. Pranayama is to restrain or stop breathing
  5. Pratyahara is the withdrawal of sense organs from external objects
  6. Dharana is concentrating on one object
  7. Dhyana is meditation
  8. Samadhi is the merging consciousness with the object of meditation

There is something for every individual in yoga, all age groups including children and youth, patients with chronic illness like diabetes, hypertension, asthma, obesity etc.

On this First International Yoga Day, the atmosphere is positive and highly charged and let’s make yoga a part of our lives.